Mexico is located in North America, bordering the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico on the East, and the North Pacific Ocean on the West. It shares a border with the United States as well as Guatemala and Belize. Mexico is the sixth-largest country in the Americas, the thirteenth-largest independent nation in the world in land mass, and the 11th most populous country in the world. The metropolitan area of Mexico City has a population of over 21 million people. 62% of the population is Mestizo, 21% is predominantly Amerindian, 7% is Amerindian, and 10% constitutes of other ethnicities (mostly European).

Before the Spanish Empire conquered and colonized, Mexico was home to many Mesoamerican civilizations such as the Olmec, Mayans, and Aztec. In the Mexican War for Independence in 1821, Mexico gained its independence from Spain and adopted the name that we know today, Mexico. The Mexican-American War established the land boundaries and in 1910 the dictatorship of Mexico was overthrown ushering in its current political system. Today, Mexico is classified as an upper-middle income country by the World Bank and has the 15th largest nominal GDP. Mexico’s economy thrives on food and beverage industries as well as the production of tobacco. It’s largest industry however is tourism, and in 2016 it was the eighth-most visited country in the world.


President:  Andres Lopez Obrador


Language: Spanish


Currency: Mexican Peso


Main Sport: Soccer


Population: 124,574,795


Land Area: 761,610 sq. mi.


Unemployment Rate: 3.6 %


Population Under Poverty Line: 46.2 %


Roman Catholic 83%


Evangelicals 7%


Other 10%