Spain is the 4th largest country on the European continent (behind Russia, Ukraine, and France). Within Europe, Spain occupies the Iberian Peninsula, better known as peninsular Spain, and the Balearic Islands. In Africa, Spain’s territory includes the cities of Ceuta and Melilla and the Canary Islands, Chafarinas, Al Hoceima, Alboran Island, and the rock of Velez de la Gomera.

Spain has a form of government called a parliamentary monarchy, where a king is the head of state, but the legislative and executive branches run the government.

Spain’s economy is the 5th largest in the European Union and 13th in the world. Historically, the most developed sectors of the Spanish economy were agriculture, livestock, and fishing; however, since the 1950s, significant industrial development began in areas such as the production of food, beverages, automobiles, textiles, and metals.

One of the activities that generate more income in Spain is tourism. This country is the second most visited territory in the world and receives more than 80 million visitors every year, after France. Madrid, Barcelona, Seville, and Palma de Mallorca are the most attractive cities for tourists.


Monarca: Felipe VI
President: Pedro Sánchez
Language: Spanish
Currency: Euro
Main sport: Soccer


Population: 47,163,418
Land area: 195,360 sq mi
Unemployment rate: 12.67 %
Population below poverty line: 2.5%


Catholics: 58.2%
Atheist: 16.2%
Agnostic: 10.8%
Other: 14.9%